Ingredient Information

Buckwheat Flour (Organic)

Alerts

Medical Conditions

  • DIABETIC

Function

Buckwheat, while it is used to make flour, is not a type of wheat. It is from another family of plant and is more closely related to rhubarb. The seeds, or berries, of the buckwheat plant are milled to make flour. Buckwheat berries do not contain gluten, but commercial buckwheat flour may contains wheat flour. This is because buckwheat flour alone would not give a palatable texture in most recipes. Buckwheat flour can be used in recipes formulated for its use. Substituting buckwheat flour for wheat flour in recipes may not give the desired effect. Buckwheat flour imparts a distinctive flavor.

Other Use and Industries

NONE KNOWN

Health Effects

Buckwheat flour contains the minerals phosphorus, manganese, magnesium, iron, zinc, and copper, 8 essential amino acids, and flavonoids that help fight diseases. Despite its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat. It contains no wheat and no gluten and can be used as a substitute to wheat flour.

Origins

Buckwheat flour is made from the seeds, or berries, of the buckwheat plant (more closely related to rhubarb), which are ground to make flour. Often Buckwheat flour is a combination of flours including wheat flour. Buckwheat flour is made from the starchy endosperm, mainly, whole buckwheat groats can be ground to make flour.

blog comments powered by Disqus